Floating along

Today was a bad day.

The Rolling Stones were wrong.  We’ll get back to them in a minute.

There are two people who had a profound influence on me since I was a little kid.  First and foremost, Jim Henson.  Since his time with Sesame Street to the Muppets and his movies, there was just something about his work that was brilliant and creative and sweet, but dark when necessary.

There other was A.A. Milne. And believe it or not, it wasn’t the Winnie the Pooh stories, but the poetry.  I read those poems a lot.  One of my favorite poems was one entitled “King John’s Christmas”.  If you haven’t ever read it, I highly recommend it.  (I recommend both collection of poems, “When We Were Very Young” and “Now We are Six.”)  Anyway, “King John’s Christmas” is about King John, and all the things he wants, most especially a “red, india-rubber ball.”  But Father Christmas doesn’t bring him any of the things he asks for, but at the end, a ball that the kids outside were playing with bounces into his room and he ends up with it.

Now, there are many lessons from the poem, but what I’m writing about today is not getting what you want.  Which is where the Rolling Stones come in.  Despite it being one of my favorite songs, they’re wrong.  It’s not that you can’t always get what you want, but you never get what you want.  And like King John, I don’t really want much.  Sure there are things that I would like to have, but what I want deep down, if I get what I want, it’s purely coincidental.

I just go along with it all.  I just do what others want.  I don’t get what I want.  I don’t even get what I need.

Leave a Reply

