Politics

Today was a good day until very recently.

I don’t like to talk about politics.  Seriously, I stay away from talking about with others. (Same with religion.  Not that I can’t talk about religion.  I minored in theology in college and nearly had enough credits for a major, so I’m pretty good with it, but you never get anywhere talking religion.)  When I’m around others and they start talking about politics, I leave the room.  It’s just not worth it.

I pretty much haven’t been interested in national politics since ’92 when Clinton won his first term. Ever since then, my interest began to wane, and it really waned after ’00, but, even though there have been plenty of candidates that I haven’t supported have won, I mostly just shrug my shoulders and move on.

I am really reluctant to talk about politics here simply because I know people have strong opinions, so I’m going to try to stick to simply my state of mind and how I got there.  If you want to disagree with me on my views, I’m sorry, these are just my preceptions.

I’ll be up front, right now. I voted for Hilary Clinton.  And I’m not that big of a fan of hers.  My wife doesn’t have a problem with her because she thinks that Hilary is just another politician and if you hold elected office, politician isn’t a dirty word.  I don’t disagree with her on that.  My two reasons for being opposed to her were: 1. I think she’s slimier than most; and 2. I don’t like “dynasties”. We had Bush 1 and Bush 2 (and maybe Bush 3 is Jeb is ever elected.) And we had Clinton 1 and nearly Clinton 2.

I don’t like Trump more.  I might be old school, but I like people who have a modicum decency and honesty, and given what we saw during the debates and campaigns, he has neither.  And I know I may be biased here, but while I didn’t like George W. Bush, I could at least respect his positions and substance.   And I can’t do that with Trump.

So, heading into the end of election night, where it actually looks like Trump will win, for the first time ever with an election, I’m actually depressed because I think the least qualified candidate ever to run for President (at least since the 1980’s) is about to become President. And there’s a certain unpredictability about him that makes him extremely dangerous, because national leaders need to be predictable.

The only consolation is that despite how we as Americans look up to the office of the President, he actually has a lot less power than people think.  It’s up to Congress to write laws.  If Trump can actually govern effectively, well then I’ve been proved wrong and I’m glad.  But, if he can’t, if he acts like a bully, if he oversteps his power, I would hope, sincerely hope, that politicians of both parties, come together and do their job.

But as of tonight, I’m not in a good state.  Hopefully, once this is all over, I’ll be able to move on and have a more positive outlook.

Leave a Reply

