New venture (part 2)

Today was a good day.

As I mentioned yesterday, I’ve taken up drawing.  I’ll be the first to admit that I’m not that great at it, but I’m not bad either.  I mostly do fan art, although thanks to my wife, I’m doing something called Inktober.  So of course, since I’m making these drawings, I want to be able to post them some place.

Since I do quite a bit of fan art (I’m an unabashed Doctor Who fan) I’ve been putting it on imgur and then linking to it on reddit.  I also started a tumblr, but since nobody follows me, who sees them?

I’m not going to pick on imgur and reddit specifically, but what it is they represent.  Unlike something on facebook, where I know the people who see what I put there, these sites are purely anonymous.  And while for years people were bemoaning a lack of a “dislike” button in facebook, these other sites let people upvote and downvote.  So here’s the issue I have:  what is it that would compel you to to dislike something without knowing anything about the person that did it?

Ok, I get it.  If they can say they like it, why can’t they say they don’t like it?  And while I absolutely hate the quote, I’ll respond by saying if you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all.  People crave positive reinforcement.  I put my drawings out there so people can say they like them, although at the same time I don’t really care.  I love seeing that people have looked at my works, but then I see that there are negative “likes”.  It makes me depressed, because sometimes what I try to do isn’t straightforward.  I try to be somewhat artistic sometimes, and because I’m not that good at it, it doesn’t necessarily come off well.  So, why do people feel the need to say something is bad?

I guess it’s what I’ll call the tinder response.  Yes or no.  Good or bad.  If you don’t like it, you must reject it.  Is it necessary?  Absolutely not.  If you don’t like it, well maybe it’s not your cup of tea.  Just move on, nothing to see here.  I’ll be hypocritical:  Give me the good, just don’t give me the bad.

2 thoughts on “New venture (part 2)

  1. I can relate to that somehow… I am on reddit way too much and thought about uploading some of my photography for review in certain subreddits but in the end I was always way too scared of the response…

Leave a Reply

