Selfishness

Today is a bad day.

I need to be more selfish.  This is something that isn’t something people normally say.  Most people want to be more unselfish, if they are being honest, or even realize it, simply because it’s good to be able to give of yourself to help others.

The problem lies with me in that I don’t think anything I want is more important than what others are doing or wanting.  When I do things for me, it tends to be solitary things, where I can find a few minutes and not interrupt what others are doing.  And if I somehow interrupt somebody else, I feel really guilty about it.

I never put myself first.  I never even suggest doing things because I don’t think people are interested in the things I want.  So I just go along with what other people want to do.   I do things that are suggested to me.  That’s because I have on concept what I want. I’ll do things for a little while because they sound interesting, but then I lose interest. There’s nothing that I have buring desire to do, so there’s no sense in me interrupting others.

It’s esepcially bad with my wife. I will never, ever interrupt my wife no matter what she’s doing, even if it’s something frivolous.  And, if she asks me for something, I’ll stop what I’m doing and do what she asks, even if I’m in the middle of my work.

I need to be more confident in myself, and have better self-esteem, but at this stage of my life, I’m sure it will never happen.

3 thoughts on “Selfishness

  1. OK, these are my thoughts.

    Selfishness is not your problem. There are absolutely no benefits of being selfish. What you want is to be assertive, to have a voice, and, most importantly, acknowledge your worth.

    Well, I have something to tell you.
    Jesus died for you because he loves you. GOD loves you, and he does for a reason. Not for anything you did, but for who you are. He wants you to make HIM the priority in your life. Your love. Your purpose. Your everything. He wants you to acknowledge your downfalls and ask for Him to save you.

    Selfishness is not a good thing, and it never will be. No matter what spin you put on it, selfishness is what separates us from God, the one who gives us worth. If you read this far, I commend you!

    1. I respect your opinion, but I believe you missed the point of my post. While assertiveness may be an issue as well, I do not do activities with others because I don’t feel like I should have others do things they don’t wish to do that I want to do, even if it’s something that I really want to do. I need to be more selfish, not assertive, and put myself first when it comes to doing things with others. Selfishness isn’t necessarily a bad thing, either.
      As for the majority of your comment, I respectfully disagree with your theology and your simplistic approach to Christianity. I believe that approach fails to provide solutions to myriads of issues by reducing everything to simple phrases, as though simple belief will be sufficient to solve all ills.

  2. Thank you for your reply!

    I’d like to challenge you. Write all of the benefits of being selfish down on a list. I would really love to read it!
    Also, when you’re old, and about to die, you’re going to look back on your life. What will matter? What will REALLY matter?

    As for the simplicity of the Gospel, Mark 10:15 says, “anyone who will not receive the kingdom of God like a little child will never enter it.”

Leave a Reply

