A little run

Today was a good day.

This is just a quick post about the WWWP5k.  I got my first running in this week.  Honestly, I thought I was going to start it yesterday, but due to having only one automobile, it’s made juggling schedules a bit hectic.

I did 2 miles today.   On a training run, it’s only 20 minutes or so.  (Actually a little less, but I’m not really bragging.)  Not only did I run for 20 minutes, but I decided that I would do hills.  I live in an area that is generally very hilly, but I have a route that I run that’s mostly flat.  I won’t run the hills unless I’m training for the 15k I do most Julys.  (The Utica Boilermaker in case anybody is interested.  It’s the best race I do.  The entire city shuts down. (Except for the people pissed off that they can’t finish their round of golf because miles 3-5 go through the golf course and they can’t play through.) For 9 miles, the entire course is lined with people and you end at the FX Matts Brewery where there’s free beer for the runners.  Doesn’t get much better than that!)

For some reason today I decided that I would be a glutton for punishment and run the hills.  I haven’t done that in probably 4 months, or more.  But I did it, and it was ok.  Sometimes it just works out that way.

Get out there and run, and I’m going to shamelessly plug my blog on tumblr, which is a positive running blog, thedepressedrunner.tumblr.com.

2 thoughts on “A little run

  1. This might sound crazy, but I miss hills! Where I live now is SO flat, which is great when I’m tired, but sometimes . . . it would be nice to have the option. At any rate, I’m glad they were kind to you on this day.

    1. I totally understand, and I’m glad that I have the option. That way I can challenge myself if I want, or not. I don’t know if I could run if it was flat all the time.

Leave a Reply

