Run Your Own Race

Today was a good day (despite finding out that getting the headlights on my car working again would cost over $1100 and I’ll be without it for five days).

I run.  I’ve written about it before, and about the need for exercise as a means for helping with depression.  I’ll plug again WordPress’s 5k that they’re doing, just to encourage people next week to get out and get moving for 5k. Over 7 days, run or walk 3.1 miles.  It’s good for the body.  It’s good (mostly) for the mind.  (And I know I’ve definitely written about THAT before.)

Since I run, I often use running as a tool through which to view things.  In the middle of my Labor Day 5k, I came up with a couple of taglines for running, “Run Your Own Race” and “Run Your Own Pace”, basically, do what you do how you want to do it.  Figure out what makes you happy and just enjoy it.

I got, for my birthday, a guitar.  When I was growing up, I played drums and I asked my parents for drum set lessons.  My parents demurred and suggested that maybe in high school they would let me learn how to play guitar.  Needless to say, I forgot about that and never learned.  So, my wife asked my what I wanted, and since I had been enjoying playing Guitar Hero, I said, a guitar.  I picked it out and she ordered it.  So, everyday, for about 20 minutes, I sit down and I pick at it.  (Literally, although strum, too.) I can play, maybe, two songs.  But it’s ok.  I’m learning and enjoying it.  Maybe at some point I’ll take lessons, but I’m good right now with how I’m doing it.

I’ve also begun drawing again.  I’m not a great artist.  I can visualize better how things should be, but when I put pencil to paper, I have a hard time having them come out correctly.  My youngest daughter thinks I’m great, but I keep telling her I can draw buildings and fences really well.  This is a challenge because I am pushing myself more on this than with the guitar.  I have a couple of projects I want to work on, probably much more ambitious than I can realistically handle, but it gives me something to do and engages my creative mind.  When that’s engaged, I don’t think about all the bad negative things in my head.

Figure out what engages you, what hobby you enjoy, and work at it, but not so much that it becomes a chore.  Run your own race.  Run your own pace.

2 thoughts on “Run Your Own Race

  1. It’s good to read about what you’re doing to accomplish your long term goals. Even more important is the title of this entry. It is damaging enough to compare your own life with somebody else’s, but even worse when mental illness comes into the equation. It is such a broad term that no two peoples experience of it is the same.

    1. Thank you. It’s important for people to discover for themselves what makes them happy, and just do it, however they want to. Set your own realistic goals and work towards them.

Leave a Reply

