I’m trying this again

I’m still not doing ok.

I’m trying something again that I tried two years ago.  I’m off (mostly) from Facebook.  I’ll explain.

I have a love/hate relationship with Facebook.  On one hand, I like it to keep up with bands, authors, etc.  On the other hand, I see what my friends are doing.  Look, I know with Facebook, there’s this artificial edifice that goes along showing the good/fun/happy stuff that everybody does.  Sure, some people bitch and moan about things, but for the most part, all you see is the happy things. I don’t have happy things to share.  I’ll put my race times, but that’s about it.  That’s the closest I come to sharing something happy.

Facebook really is a special kind of torture.  In a perfect world, I would deactivate my account, and that would be it.  But, I can’t for two reasons.  I don’t mind sharing various articles I see or using it to communicate with friends (not that I have many, but hypothetically, let’s just say I d.)  And then there’s my family.  If I deactivate it, then there will be a lot more questions about why I did it, particularly from my parents and my wife.  I’ve tried just ignoring it, but the problem is when I’m bored I’ll just check Facebook to see what’s going on, and I’m back to being depressed by it.

I’ve taken a couple of steps.  First off, I’ve taken Facebook off my homescreen on my phone.  The app is still with the rest of the apps, but it’s no longer staring me in the face when I use my phone. Secondly, I’ve taken it off my personal webpage.  There’s less temptation for me to access it on my computer.  I’ll still post articles to Facebook, and I’ll get notifications on my phone that somebody has responded to something, or has tagged me, and I’ll take whatever steps I need to, because I have to approve posts posted to my timeline, so it will still seem like I’m fully engaged on Facebook, but really I’m not.

 

Note:  I don’t plan on posting something every day.  I have a number of thoughts that I want to get out, but I don’t think I should do this every day.

Leave a Reply

