Christmas (revisited)

It’s been very stressful.

I’ve managed, the past couple of days, not to have to take my anti-anxiety medication.  Although, some of my anxiety has been mitigated thanks to beer.  But it’s been extremely bad this year for Christmas.  To start with, I didn’t have any ideas for my wife for Christmas.  Usually, I have ideas galore, but this year, I was just tapped out.  So, she told me what she wanted, and that’s what I got her.  I did the same with her, told her what I wanted, and I know what I’m getting, but I have a suspicion that she’s going to surprise me with something.

That’s part of the problem I have with Christmas.  When I was in high school, I think, my mom asked me what I would like for Christmas, and I gave her some ideas.  And that’s exactly what I got.  No surprises.  Nothing that they looked at thought I might like, even if it wasn’t something I had said.  It was the biggest let down I ever had at Christmas, even more so than finally learning that Santa Claus wasn’t real.  There was no thought to it.

So why go through the hassle of it all for nothing.  I like Christmas, I do, but from a religious perspective.  Isn’t that enough?  Tis a gift to be simple.  I don’t like lighted houses, just simple candles in the windows.  I don’t need my living room turned into a gaudy plastic showcase.  A tree (it can be fake, but a) I’m allergic to pine and b) it’s a hassle having a live one) with lights and simple decorations.  A creche, of course, but one which isn’t ostentatious.

But sadly, with our culture it is not to be, even if it was ever that way.  I can skip the commercialization.  I can skip the presents.  I can skip it all.

Leave a Reply

