Christmas

Its been OK.

I hate Christmas.  It’s more the holidays in general, but Christmas is the worst.  It starts at Thanksgiving and it continues for the next month.  It’s not just Christmas, but it’s really all holidays.

It’s the gathering and everybody being happy.  Sure, I like a good party where I can drink and get numb, but when its coworkers or family, its hard to get to the point where I feel OK and comfortable.  It’s not just at holiday parties either.  I was going to an exercise class and I see all of those houses with the lights and all that crap and by the time I get to the gym, I didn’t want to be there, I just wanted to leave.  But it wasn’t just the whole Christmas thing, it’s just my shitty life in general and when other people in the class asked why I didn’t look so good, I just had to say it was because of Christmas.  Only in truth it really wasn’t.  It was just a good cover.

But it doesn’t change the fact I don’t like Christmas.  The amount of stress is ridiculous.  I like giving my wife and kids presents, I just hate the process of it.  People try to out do each other.  I like it simple and quiet.  I just want something nice, not gaudy, but that ship has sailed a long time ago.  I mean, look at a Charlie Brown Christmas.  That tells you how bad it’s truly been.  I don’t want that.  I just want to have a quiet day with nice presents.  Is that really too much to ask?

2 thoughts on “Christmas

  1. My grief will not allow me to find joy in anything that emphasizes the absence of my son. I am pretending the whole time I am with others. They have gone on with their lives, forgetting that I am stuck in a vacuum of sorrow. I understand all that you have stated about not liking the holidays. But as for me, I am a Christian and the true meaning of the season is what makes it tolerable…not to mention the joy on my grandchild’s face. I wish that for you.

Leave a Reply

