Music

It’s been a while since I’ve had anything, but things have been holding steady.

I like lots of different music.  Just very eclectic, I can listen to most everything.  I have typical depressing bands in my collection, such as Radiohead and Pink Floyd.  But I also have bands such as The Polyphonic Spree and Sigur Ros.  I found myself singing along to “Top of the World” by Imagine Dragons, which is anything but depressing.

I went through college doing the typical “depressing poet” route of listening to Dark Side of the Moon.  I love that album.  It’s one of the most brilliant album ever made.  I was listening to the Flaming Lips cover it yesterday, and it doesn’t do it justice.  (Not one of their better covers, but they really improved on “Borderline” by Madonna.)  I can still listen to it even now.

But then there’s The Polyphonic Spree.  It’s rainbow and sunshine and lollipops.  But musically it’s just very interesting.  I suppose that’s really what it is.  Take Sigur Ros.  It’s very interesting musically.  The vocals are haunting.  And then read a translation of the lyrics, which is sometimes next to impossible since they don’t often write in Icelandic but instead in their own made up language, and the lyrics don’t always make sense.  But the lyrics are anything but depressing.  It really doesn’t fit.

So, I guess whatever sounds good I’m going to listen to, whether it fits my mood or not.  There is one song which whenever I hear it, as uplifting and hopeful as the song is, makes me cry.

Leave a Reply

