A wedding

The last couple of days have been OK.

This is actually surprising for a couple of reasons.  First, it’s been a couple of days since my last bad day.  Secondly, I had to go to a wedding.

Let me be clear: I’m not against weddings, although statistically, it won’t last.  It’s my wife’s cousin, and I’ve known her since she was in high school, and I’m very happy for her, but I don’t care.  Normally, I go to a wedding…Strike that.  I’ve been to four weddings other than my own.  Wife’s friend from home, friend from college, who had it on New Year’s Eve, Sister-in-law, who had it in Mexico, and brother’s.  It’s not like I go to many, but when I do, generally, I’m OK for about an hour and then I want to leave.  Well, no.  When I went to my wife’s friend, I think that was fine.  When I went to my friend’s from college, I drank.  A LOT.  The others, well, that’s a different matter.  I didn’t want to go to Mexico, didn’t want to go to the reception back home a month later, and generally, I hated the entire thing.  I didn’t want to go to my brother’s either, but even more than my wife’s cousin, I REALLY don’t care how things are with him.  I’m happy for him, but that’s as much as I want to do with him.  I suspect I’ll talk about him another time.

So, there isn’t anything normal about going to a wedding, but I will say that sometimes I will go someplace, and I’ll be OK for a short time and then want to leave.  It’s a very complex thing, and it isn’t necessarily because it’s a wedding.  Sometimes I’ll be shopping with my wife.  I don’t mind shopping, but sometimes I just don’t want to be there any more, just want to leave, just want to be home, doing anything else.  Social events are much worse with that.  The facade of being happy, I can only keep it up for a while, and then I need to go.  Surprisingly, I didn’t experience it.  We went to the ceremony.  We went to the four-hour reception.  I was OK the entire time.  I didn’t even drink like I normally would because we decided to drive home that night.

Sometimes these things work out OK

Leave a Reply

